In yoga we are always talking about the vibrations of life. We talk about the positive energy that we bring into our bodies with every beautiful breath we take. In yoga the word for that is Prana or “life energy.”

What we are not focused on, or are not always aware of, are that the energy centers of our body are always responding to the energy we bring into and push out of our bodies.

Science tells us that everything is made up of energy; think atoms, protons and neutrons. Energy is a vibration, in the form of sound, movement and even thought. Through sound, movement and thought we can change the vibration or the order in which the vibration moves.

In the Yoga tradition we call this energy our Chakra system.

The word Chakra is Sanskrit for “wheel” or “disk” and signifies one of the seven major energy centers in the body. The seven chakras are the energy centers that run along the nerve plexuses of the physical body. They correspond with the nervous system as well as states of consciousness, developmental stages in life, body functions, colors and sounds. The chakra is believed to be the center of activity that receives, assimilates and expresses the life force energy. The seven major chakras are the root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, brow and crown.

When learning about the energy system we begin to learn about different ways we can make positive change in our life. For example, if you have had a difficult time with managing money or have a negative relationship with money (never having enough) you may need a tune up in the root chakra which is where we house the energy of survival and prosperity.

There are many ways to “tune” the vibrational system during a yoga class through breath, poses, and sound, we are always moving energy in a positive way. With vibrational healing such as Reiki and Singing Bowls (sound therapy) energy is being rearranged as well.

Here is a list of the chakras, where they are and what they represent

Root -base of the spine, survival

Sacral -abdomen, emotions

Solar plexus -naval area, power and will

Heart -middle of the chest, love

Throat- the throat, communication

Brow -the forehead between the eyes, imagination and intuition

Crown -the top of the head, awareness

The chakra system is very intricate and is influence by every vibration in, and outside, of our bodies.

So, remember to eat well, sleep well, move and keep good company. All of which will help you “pick up good vibrations”

Glenda Wynne ERYT 500, YACEP, R.N.

The Centre at VitaZen is Smith Mountain Lake Virginia’s yoga studio. Offering classes 7 days per week. We have 10 200 hour certified instructors. Join us in person or online and become a part of The Centre at VitaZen Family/.

The Centre at VitaZen
12787 Booker T Washington Hwy
Suite 103
Hardy, VA 24101 / 540-721-9365